Beware of this new Facebook email scam which aims to steal your login credentials

Facebook

Did you receive an email lately from Facebook regarding your activity, saying that it's been a while since you checked your account, and mentions that your messages will be deleted in a few days? Well, don't fall for it as it is a phishing scam. Recently, Microsoft's Eric Ligman brought this Facebook scam to light which aims to steal your username and password. If you don't know, Eric Ligman is Microsoft Senior Sales Excellence Manager.

It's like every other email which appears to be from Facebook, but if you take a closer look at the links in the email, they don't point to the official website - rather a third-party one. Even the sender of the email is not associated with a Facebook account, so it is highly recommended that you do not click on any link in the email. It also shows you a link to view your messages as well as go to Facebook.

As a quick reminder, Ligman says, "Remember, as a rule of thumb, do NOT click blindly on anything you get in an email without doing just some quick analysis of who it is really from and where it is really taking you to."

Be safe, and always take a deep look in to the links in the email before opening them.

Please review our Community Guidelines before posting a comment.