Microsoft reveals new recycle bin feature for SkyDrive.com

Microsoft has released a new feature for SkyDrive.com which allows users to recover any file, even those deleted by accident. The new recycle bin feature for SkyDrive.com even comes with a new prompt that asks you if you wanted to undo your action when you delete a file.

"SkyDrive already keeps previous versions of your Office documents automatically. But students, in particular, have asked for a way to recover any file—even those deleted by accident, by someone else, during a group project. So, we’ve added a recycle bin to SkyDrive," Microsoft states in an official blog post. The recycle bin works similar to the one on a Windows PC and will allow the user to browse the bin in thumbnail or details view. Those worried about storage space can put their fears to rest because items in the recycle bin do not count against your SkyDrive storage limit. "We save all items you delete in the recycle bin for at least 3 days. If the content in your recycle bin gets large enough to exceed 10% of your storage limit (which will be pretty rare), we’ll start to delete the oldest content (after it’s been there 3 days), and will permanently remove items from the recycle bin after they have been there for 30 days (and not restored)," Microsoft adds.

Microsoft has made available the recycle bin feature on SkyDrive.com (may take up to 24 hours for the feature to show up) and the feature will make its way to other SkyDrive experiences soon.