Adobe has released an urgent warning on the the company's Security Bulletin, advocating to update your Flash Player to the latest version, especially if you use Windows and/or Mac. This applies mostly to Internet Explorer and Google Chrome users since utilize the technology.
According to Adobe, “These updates address a critical vulnerability that could potentially allow an attacker to remotely take control of the affected system”.
Adobe has provided users with what Flash Player versions need to be updated, and you can see the list below:
- Users of Adobe Flash Player 220.127.116.11 and earlier versions for Windows and Macintosh should update to Adobe Flash Player 18.104.22.168.
- Users of Adobe Flash Player 22.214.171.1245 and earlier versions for Linux should update to Adobe Flash Player 126.96.36.1996.
- Adobe Flash Player 188.8.131.52 installed with Google Chrome will automatically be updated to the latest Google Chrome version, which will include Adobe Flash Player 184.108.40.206 for Windows, Macintosh and Linux.
- Adobe Flash Player 220.127.116.11 installed with Internet Explorer 10 will automatically be updated to the latest Internet Explorer 10 version, which will include Adobe Flash Player 18.104.22.168 for Windows 8.0.
- Adobe Flash Player 22.214.171.124 installed with Internet Explorer 11 will automatically be updated to the latest Internet Explorer 11 version, which will include Adobe Flash Player 126.96.36.199 for Windows 8.1.
Please make sure to update Adobe Flash Player as soon as possible since the company says this reaches its highest threat level, due to the large amount of vulnerabilities being exploited on Windows and Mac. This threat is what Adobe classifies as a Priority 1 rating, which is the highest, and more dangerous than Priority 2 or Priority 3 ratings.
To manually update, just follow on-screen instructions that are shown after clicking the download link below. Otherwise, some users will get this update automatically via Windows Update. It goes without saying that you never click a pop-up prompting for installation of a new version of the software.